Can Patrice Bergeron Tie An NHL Record?

Image result for patrice bergeron


The annual National Hockey League awards will be announced this Wednesday, June 21st in Las Vegas, Nevada. Along with the awards, the official roster for the 31st team to join the league, the Vegas Golden Knights, will be announced as well. Added onto the new jerseys by Adidas, who is taking over from Reebok for this upcoming season.

The most valuable trophy in ice hockey today, is the Stanley Cup. Unfortunately, that is not coming to Boston this year, but a representative of Boston is nominated for an award. Before we get into who and what that is, here are all of the nominations for the NHL awards.

Hart Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player To His Team):

Connor McDavid – Edmonton Oilers

Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins

Sergei Bobrovsky – Columbus Blue Jackets

Ted Lindsay Award (Best Player Voted By The NHLPA):

Brent Burns – San Jose Sharks

Connor McDavid – Edmonton Oilers

Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins

Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman):

Victor Hedman – Tampa Bay Lightning

Erik Karlsson – Ottawa Senators

Brent Burns – San Jose Sharks

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender):

Carey Price – Montreal Canadiens

Sergei Bobrovsky – Columbus Blue Jackets

Braden Holtby – Washington Capitals

Calder Memorial Trophy (Best Rookie):

Auston Matthews – Toronto Maple Leafs

Patrik Laine – Winnipeg Jets

Zach Werenski – Columbus Blue Jackets

Lady Byng Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Player): 

Johnny Gaudreau – Calgary Flames

Mikael Granlund – Minnesota Wild

Vladimir Tarasenko – St. Louis Blues

NHL Foundation Award (Core Values Of Hockey): 

Travis Hamonic – New York Islanders

Wayne Simmonds – Philadelphia Flyers

Mark Messier Leadership Award: 

Mark Giordano – Calgary Flames

Ryan Getzlaf – Anaheim Ducks

Nick Foligno – Columbus Blue Jackets

Jack Adams Award (Best Head Coach):

Mike Babcock – Toronto Maple Leafs

Todd McLellan – Edmonton Oilers

John Tortorella – Columbus Blue Jackets

Bill Masterton Trophy (Dedication To Hockey):

Craig Anderson – Ottawa Senators

Andrew Cogliano – Anaheim Ducks

Derek Ryan – Carolina Hurricanes

GM Of The Year: 

Peter Chiarelli – Edmonton Oilers

Pierre Dorion – Ottawa Senators

David Poile – Nashville Predators

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward):

Patrice Bergeron – Boston Bruins

Ryan Kesler – Anaheim Ducks

Mikko Koivu – Minnesota Wild

There are also additional awards that have already been confirmed and they are as followed.

Art Ross Trophy (Highest Point Scorer):

Connor McDavid – Edmonton Oilers (100 Points)

Maurice Richard (Most Goals): 

Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins (44 Goals)

William M. Jennings Trophy (Fewest Goals Allowed Against):

Braden Holtby – Washington Capitals

President’s Trophy (Best Team In The Regular Season):

Washington Capitals (55-19-8; 118 points)

Prince Of Wales Trophy (Eastern Conference Champions):

Pittsburgh Penguins

Clarence S. Campbell Bowl (Western Conference Champions): 

Nashville Predators

Stanley Cup: 

Pittsburgh Penguins

There is only one award that the Bruins are in contention for and that is once again for the Frank J. Selke Trophy. The Selke Trophy was brought into the league back in 1978 in a way to award the forward who “demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game.” The trophy was named after former Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs General Manager, Frank J. Selke, who won nine Stanley Cup rings (1932, 1942, 1945, 1953, 1956-60).

Patrice Bergeron can tie history Wednesday night if he wins the covenant trophy. Canadiens’ legend, Bob Gainey was the first to win the award, winning it the first four years. Since then, four players have won the award three times and Bergeron is one of them. Guy Carbonneau, Jere Lehiten, Pavel Datsyuk are the other players, all have since retired from the league.

Bergeron first won the trophy back in the 2011-2012 season, then again in 2013-14 and 2014-15. Being the first player to win the award consecutively since Pavel Datsyuk did it three times in a row from 2007-2008 to 2009-2010.

This season, Bergeron played in 79 games, putting up 21-32-53 totals and a +12 rating. Bergeron also had 2-2-4 totals in the six post-season games against the Ottawa Senators. Patrice finished the year with his third highest face-off win percentage in his career, with a 60.1%. Bergeron also ended the year second in turnover +/- with a +42. (The stat is based off of takeaways and giveaways).

A win on Wednesday night for Bergeron would be a nice cap to the season for the Bruins. Making it to the post-season, finding some chemistry with new rookies, and a new head coach that shows promise towards success of the team. Nonetheless, the Bruins are indeed proud of Bergy’s success and hopefully he walks out of Vegas with the Frank J. Selke once again.




Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Featured

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: